Skip to content

Dirty Rats

Dirty Rats are a no-bullshit Aussie pub rock band, playing beer barns and inner city clubs throughout Melbourne and country Victoria. Over the last 30 years, the band have developed a sound that is typically Australian hard rock, think AC/DC, Rose Tattoo, but listen closely and influences from MC5, Motorhead and even some punk rock can be heard. They have developed a loyal fanbase both here and overseas based on their critically acclaimed first album, Rock n Roll, amazing follow-up album, End in Tears and high-energy shows for bugger all money, precious little industry recognition, but purely for the enjoyment of playing loud “balls to the wall” rock.

After numerous lineup changes which saw some excellent players and some complete nut jobs pass through the band’s ranks, Dirty Rats are now a lean, mean and explosive 4 piece band pumping out some of the best new guitar-driven rock, with a uniquely 80’s flavour, that you will hear today. The Dirty Rats lineup comprises original rat, Jamie Beovich on bass, Wayne Rich on vocals, Anthony “Chooka” Chapple on guitar and Andy Thomson on drums. This latest album, End in Tears, features 13 new hard-driving original rock compositions from the songwriting team of Beovich/Rich, ranging from rock anthems to drinking songs and even some old-school blues, just to shake things up a little.

If you like your rock loud, hard and old school, Dirty Rats are the band for you. End in Tears is set to become an instant Aussie rock classic, building on the high praise and accolades of Rock n Roll to finally set the Dirty Rats into their rightful place in the Aussie rock pantheon. It was over 30 years coming and a lot of blood sweat and tears, but Dirty Rats are finally set to conquer the world!


Wayne Rich – Vocals
Anthony Chapple – Guitar
Jamie Beovich – Bass
Dave Powell – Drums

Formed: 1985
Location: Melbourne, Australia








Album Title: End In Tears
Release Date: February 24th 2020
Label: Sliptrick Records

Album Title: Rock N Roll
Release Date: February 24th 2018
Label: Sliptrick Records