Author: Michael

Ancestor: China’s old-school thrash metaller Release Lords of Destiny on Vinyl

Hailing from Beijing, Ancestor is one of the foremost old-school thrash metal bands from China. They have been creating headbangers since 2007. Their musical style is in the vein of early Teutonic thrash and the lyrical themes deal with the injustices of life and the philosophical dilemmas of being human. 

In 2018, ANCESTOR’s debut full-length album “Lords of Destiny” was released via Awakening Records, which was met with rave reviews and was included in many top 5 and top 10 lists for 2018. The CD version sold out within 6 months (LTD. 1000), while the cassette version (LTD. 200) was released by Eerie Hint Productions and instantly sold out.

Now, the vinyl version will be released via Awakening Records on August 18th. With aggressive riffs, transcendental melodies, and thought-provoking lyrics, “Lords of Destiny” captivates and assaults. The solemn, artistic seriousness that is offered will leave you spellbound and hungry for more. Mastered for vinyl by Patrick W. Engel at Temple of Disharmony.

ANCESTOR: Facebook

STEPFATHER FRED: First video If She Falls of the upcoming Album LIKE THE SEA released

The waiting is over!

The past year has hit almost all artists hard. Anyone who knows STEPFATHER FRED can imagine what must have built up with this cult live band if you don’t let them on stage for so long. The first single from the new album, which will be released in autumn, gives a foretaste.

“If She Falls” combines passion and current affairs with powerful dynamics!

The single is available digitally on all common platforms:

With almost five albums and almost 500 live shows, STEPFATHER FRED has established themselves in the club and festival scene.

The Allgäu rock band has been touring Europe since 2005, and fans are longing for the new album, which will be released in autumn via El Puerto Records.


EMERALD SUN: Sign Worldwide Record Deal With El Puerto Record

Piracy has a long tradition in Greece – references to it can even be found in the epics of Homer. So reason enough for them El Puerto Fleet also makes itself known in these waters. With Emerald Sun they found a classic Power Metal band that musically does not deny its origins. The band has signed a worldwide recording deal.

The new album – now the fifth – will be released in early 2022 and intensively advertised with a tour. Therefore they join Geoff Tate on the 30-year Queensryche Empire Tour!

Singer Stelios “Theo” Tsakiridis is delighted: “The metal frigate Emerald Sun from Greece was looking for a label with people which bring the ship on a new course in order to enrich metalheads all over the world with their music in the future. Partners with whom you can talk about anything and find the best solutions together. Partners who believe in the band and this one support in the best possible way. The ship has found a new port.
Thank you EL PUERTO! “

Label founder Torsten Ihlenfeld explains: “With Emerald Sun we welcome another classic metal jewel to El Puerto Records.
Emerald Sun combines classic metal structures with that special magic from their Greek origins that catches you under their (musical) spell-like a bat out of hell. Emerald Sun literally leaves you hellbound & spellbound so to say. Welcome aboard, guys!

Emerald Sun: Facebook

Veterans: Singapore Based Band Unleash Second Single/Video Right For The Throat From Upcoming Album Fake Quiet and Peace

Metal band Veterans release second track and official music video for Right For the Throat from the forthcoming independently released album Fake Quiet and Peace.

Right For The Throat is a lightning paced, out-and-out rock & roll track. Period. From the high hat count in on the intro, through the delicious guitar solo to the pounding outro, you can’t help but throw your neck into a state of outright destruction. Framed with creative vocals paying homage to the great metal overlords of time and the lifelong joy of finding good music, Right For The Throat hits all the targets dead centre.

The accompanying music video, produced by Veterans drummer Neil Halliday, is a hilarious compilation of scenes put together with various nods to the film, television and music world, incorporating the band’s actual faces into each part using some technical witchcraft. The end result perfectly captures the tone of the song and provides you with the best 3-minute experience you will have all year.

Matt Hughes guitars on the Right For The Throat song and video release: “Writing Right for the Throat was some serious primordial voodoo shit. It was one of those songs that came together in a cup of coffee on a Saturday morning. It seemed so obvious at the time, like it was already lurking inside the guitar somewhere. I literally played the solo one time and that was the same way it appears on the record.  The whole song was dusted in under 15 minutes. On the album it’s 100% rock-n-roll – no metronome, no frills or fancy shit.”

Veterans debut album Fake Quiet and Peace is out on 23 August 2021. The album has been recorded in Singapore by Leonard Soosay at Snakeweed Studios, mixed by Jesse Gander of Rain City Recorders (3 Inches of Blood, Subhumans, Anciients) and mastered by the grammy-winning Alan Douches from West West Side Music (Mastodon, Dillinger Escape Plan, Kvelertak.)

Kike Valderrama – Vocals
Neil Halliday – Drums
Matt Hughes – Guitar
Martin Vlaskovsky – Guitar
Badr Fadil – Bass

Veterans: Facebook

Burn the Highway: Australian Hard Rockers Release Single and Official Video Weapon X

Australian Hard Rockers Burn The Highway have released the official video clip for their single Weapon X. The captivating video was written, recorded & produced by Kristian Capuozzolo and Rob Favotto at Hollywood Hitman Studios. It was filmed by David Bugeja from Catmari Productions. Check out the clip on their YouTube channel and stream the single on Spotify.

The song is the title track from their upcoming album which will be released later in the year. So stay tuned for more news!

Kristian – Vocals & Bass
Rob Favotto – Guitars
Nate Barnes – Drums
Hari Rana – Live Drummer

Burn The Highway: Facebook

Besomora: Australians Release New Single and Video Disgraced

Today, melodic death metal newcomers Besomora are releasing their debut single Disgraced on 23rd July along with a lyrics video that is available for preview on YouTube. What a debut! Michael from Metal-Roos: “I had to listen to it a few times and every time it got better and better!”

‘Disgraced’ is a song about people having addictions to both drugs and alcohol that slowly destroy them from inside. Something I have seen living in Australia when good people behaved as if they were possessed by 10 demons, screaming in pain, throwing things against the wall. Something we always see in the movies and not always experience in real-life situations.” says Guitarist & Vocalist Vlad

Disgraced is featuring hard-hitting vocals, catchy guitars and bass supported by more-than-solid drumming that finds its time to shine when transitioning from one part of the single to another.

Vlad Martynov – Guitars & Vocals
Daniel Zolotic – Drums
Zeus Wijetunga – Bass

Besomora: Facebook