• Open-Hours:10 am to 7pm
  • info@themeansar.com

Month: July 2019

Plague 9: Debut EP Mr Ass Out Now

Plague 9‘s EP Mr Ass is out now! The Australian traditional heavy metal newcomers from Adelaide have just released their debut EP. Mr Ass is a good mix of thrash and more traditional style heavy metal riffs. Drawing influence from bands such as Metallica, Megadeth, Pantera, Iron Maiden and also Jeff Loomis, Marco Sfogli and Andy James… there is sure to be something for every headbanging metal junkie.

“Each track is riddled with savage & catchy riffs and filled out with blazing solos.” Hysteria Mag

The EP’s artwork was created by Dusan Markovic who has worked with bands like Dragony, Mystic Prophecy, Dragonheart..

Formed by rhythm guitarist/singer Devon Smith and bassist John Hopf in 2017, Plague 9 recorded their first song Stuck in Hell for the release on the Metal United Down Under Vol 1 compilation. Since then lead guitarist David Hone has jumped on board bringing his very unique playing style and blistering speed taking the songs into a new dimension.

Plague 9 are:
John Hopf – Bass guitar
David Hone – Lead guitar
Devon Smith – Rhythm guitar/vocals
Kon Tsacos – Drums

Plague9 Artwork

1. Stuck in hell
2. Criminal justice
3. Flavour of the weak
4. Feed it
5. Mr ass

MR ASS is available on their Bandcamp page.

Plague 9: Facebook

Alchemy: Released Debut EP Infinite Forms of Torture & Title Track Video

Sydney’s Alchemy just released their crushing debut EP Infinite Forms of Torture. The EP features 3 tracks rooted in brutal death and black metal displaying Alchemy’s blend of the best of many worlds. The guys create a style of intricate riffs, melodies and grooves stemming from multiple musical backgrounds outside of the genre.

Just formed in 2018, the band made very quick a name for themselves with there high energy performances. Supports for Australian bands like Psycroptic, Obscura, Disentomb, Whoretopsy and King Parrot followed very fast.

Just after the release of the EP, Alchemy toured Japan with Hypocrisy and Kataklysm. They also released the official video for the title track Infinite Forms of Torture.

Alchemy are:
Nic Webb – Vocals
Mateja Ostrugnaj – Drums
Christopher Puglia – Guitar
Daniel Saeed – Bass

Alchemy Artwork

1.Infinite Forms of Torture
3.Nocturnal Forest
Mixed and mastered by Adrian Cappaletti of Disentomb who also plays bass on the first 2 tracks

Alchemy: Facebook

EWIGKEIT: Release Re-Recording of Starscape: Starscape 2.019

Hot on the heels of Ewigkeit‘s UFO themed album DISClose, the space theme is explored further by a trip back through time. Of sorts… in 1999, Ewigkeit released the 2nd album Starscape, a Symphonic Black Metal album large in it’s scope and ambition, but with an almost unlistenably poor sound quality.  Now, in 2019, Ewigkeit present Starscape 2.019 – a complete re-recording of the original album.

With epic tracks like Point of Origin (Black Metal’s first waltz?), Unveiling The Mystery or Legend of Keshara or the straight ahead mid-paced Swedish Death Metal inspired Lightspeed Evolution or the sublime classical of Space Symphony, this is now in the form it was originally intended way back there at the end of the 20th Century.

Lyrical themes are reflections of the dark past and a look towards the unknown future in the realms above and beyond. The man behind Ewigkeit, James Fogarty, states: “20 years ago, I wrote and recorded an album called Starscape; it was wildly ambitious for my meagre beginnings and I ramped up the orchestral elements and added a futuristic feel for the space theme.  I thought, and still think, that the music was great and original material!” However, it became hard to listen after some year. James explains further: “I just couldn’t listen to it within a few years, because my first album production was virtually of an UNLISTENABLE sound quality (even for 90s Black Metal)!”

Thus, James rerecorded and produced the album as part of his personal crusade to rescue his legacy before “I start getting too fucking old“.

He proudly presents Starscape 2.019 : “20 years since my teenage self recorded it, I present to you Starscape 2.019 – a vastly improved and polished product which I’m really pleased with and now proud of.”

Ewigkeit is the ever-changing project of British multi-instrumentalist James Fogarty (In The Woods, Old Forest, Jaldaboath and others). Starting off as a Black Metal project in the mid 90s, the project has veered from Symphonic Black Metal to Industrial to 70’s Space Rock and back again in the many years of it’s on/off existence.

Ewigkeit Starscape 2.019

All music is written, performed and produced by James Fogarty (also of In The Woods, Old Forest, Jaldaboath and Orcrypt).  Mastering is by Kjetil Ottersen (Vektor Facilities) and artwork is by Lenny Bridgeman.

01 – Point of Origin
02 – Unveiling the Mystery
03 – Legend of Keshara
04 – Return of Planet ‘X’
05 – Deviant
06 – Lightspeed Evolution
07 – Starscape
08 – Capsule
09 – Birth of Horus
10 – Space Symphony

Starscape 2.019 physically is available to pre-order now and digitally from 23/07/19 from www.deathtomusic.com.The album will be released digitally across all platforms to buy and stream on 23/08/19 and on CD on 23/09/19.

EWIGKEIT: Facebook